09

Leave a comment

August 5, 2011 by Jo

Someone you didn’t want to let go, but just drifted

Argh. Another difficult one. My friendships that have ended have done so abruptly, for the most part, and usually come back stronger and better than ever later. In fact, I can only think of a couple that haven’t “restarted”, so to speak, and I’m fine with those being over. The friends that I don’t talk to every week or even month are THERE, you know? I know I can call them up at any hour, even though we haven’t seen each other in a while.

Drifted.

Hmm.

Ok, so…here goes…

I have a girlfriend who I was really close to for…a while. Three years of good solid hanging out, phone calls, etc. Our lives were parallel in some ways; both in serious, committed relationships. Both with full-time jobs. Both into performing and music.

But then, at the time when our lives were MOST similar (pregnancy and subsequent motherhood) we drifted.

I’m not sure if it was some newfound clarity brought on by growing another being inside me or just the fact that I was sick in the head with nausea most days, but I started to see things I didn’t like about her. And really negative things she brought out in me.

And, instead of talking to her about these things, I just let the whole friendship slip.

Maybe I should give her a call.

Or maybe there’s a reason we’re not as close, if we weren’t good for each other.

Life is one big maybe.

This post is part of the 30 Days of Truth Blog Challenge. You can find the list here.

«

Leave a Reply

What

Seen

Backwards

