07

Leave a comment

July 26, 2011 by Jo

Someone who has made your life worth living for.

This is a toughie for me. While I have the typical answers (my husband, my child, etc.) I’ve just never been in a place of such despair that I had to convince myself to go on because _______ needed me.

Which gives me my answer.

When you’re a child, you are exposed to one belief system for the most part: your parent’s. You’ll have teachers and friends and extended family, sure. But it all comes back to what your parents believe.

My parents believe in God, His Word, His Son, and the Holy Spirit.

When I was 3, our family along with several others were sent from our church to plant a new one in a growing part of town. We left and did just that; started a new fellowship in what is now a flourishing part of Madison County. The church is still very successful, in fact.

Anyway, when your parents are starting a new church, you’re there all the time. I learned how to read music in church choir, developed an appreciation for the performing arts and got over my stage fright and shyness, all in church.

But beyond that I learned about my parent’s beliefs, and made them my own. I learned about a peace beyond understanding, a comfort that you gain just from uttering a prayer or singing a hymn. I began to grasp what it meant to sin, that there’s something supernatural about death, and what’s at the heart of love.

And there’s my answer. Jesus is my “someone”; a real man who walked the Earth, died for me and was resurrected. Through Him I’ve found a place of zero despair and He’s made life worth living.

This post is part of the 30 Days of Truth Blog Challenge. You can find the list here.

»
«

Leave a Reply

What

Seen

Backwards

