Out of Nowhere

Leave a comment

May 20, 2010 by Jo

Earlier this year my baby sister Katie marked something off her Bucket List. She saw Simon & Garfunkel live in Madison Square Garden. She’s done now, with her List, since that was the only item on it.

I don’t really have a Bucket List. I have a Restaurant Bucket List that includes places like Woodfire Grill in ATL and Brooklyn Bowl in NYC (well, Brooklyn…obviously). I have a list of chores that need to be done. Does that count?

I don’t have one of those fancy Bucket List things because, with me, in my life, it would lead to disappointment. While I’m super organized and driven at work, I would rather exist spontaneously at home. I love when we just drive around town deciding where to eat. My favorite thing about weekends? No plans. The best part about travelling with us? No itinerary.

Spontaneity. Yes.

So when Jeff called last week that a new step for his photography business was suddenly on the horizon, I was ECSTATIC. He’s grown his business by leaps and bounds in the past two years. He holds contracts at all the major hospitals in our county and the surrounding ones; he’s the yearbook photographer for one university and the sole Greek photographer for the other; we put the first issue of our magazine to bed this week; and there’s so much more.

This next step would open up some pretty amazing opportunities not just for Jeff and his staff but for the photography community as a whole. It’s one we’ve been half-heartedly looking for and I think this sudden development is God’s timing. It just FEELS right.

Maybe spontaneity isn’t that spontaneous after all…

Leave a Reply

What

Seen

Backwards

