And So It Begins.

1

January 3, 2010 by Jo

I cannot believe it’s 2010! Here’s that survey thingy from All & Sundry, who I discovered for the first time this year:

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?
I gave birth to a beautiful baby girl. Among many other “firsts”.
2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?


I usually don’t make resolutions. I more of a “new week resolution” type person. My resolution this week? Get to bed earlier.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?


Yep. Some of our best friends, Mike and Kim, had their first baby in July, and my amazing boss just barely made the cutoff…her baby boy made his grand entrance last week!
4. Did anyone close to you die?


Yes. My former boss, Dave Todd, who was my biggest supporter and fan and made us laugh daily. My theatre “grandmother” also passed right before the baby was born. Looking back all of this happened in perfect timing and just proved there’s a bigger plan for everything.
5. What countries did you visit?


I ate matzoh ball soup at Stage Deli in New York City and spent lots of time in New Orleans…and that’s close enough for me.
6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
Discipline. I need to go to bed earlier, eat a good breakfast every morning, and spend more time outside (besides the time wandering the park for work).
7. What dates from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
February 25, the day the test read “positive”; August 27, the day we welcomed our new boss with a press conference and an awesome party (and the day Jeff and I decided to have an out-of-hospital birth with a midwife); November 16, the day Nola Imogene met the world.
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?


I could be that girl and say my natural birth. So I will.
9. What was your biggest failure?
Not following my instincts about my doctor earlier. It didn’t matter much in the long run except that I was disappointing myself.
10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Besides the teeny-tiny tear from Nola Jean’s birth, nope. I don’t count pregnancy as illness even though mine included lots of vomiting! Ha.
11. What was the best thing you bought?
I love my iPhone.
12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Jeff’s. Man, has he put up with a lot this year!
13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?


Those are strong words! I guess I’m really tired of the “birthers” and their quest to discredit President Obama. I was taught to revere the office of President of the United States and have never agreed with disrespect of the person holding that office. You can disagree with his policies or procedures, but don’t attack him personally. He was put there for a reason, whether you voted for him or not.
14. Where did most of your money go?
Food. We could travel for next to nothing if we didn’t enjoy food so much. There’s something appalling and depressing…people who visit places like New Orleans or Savannah and order room service! Ack! 
15. What did you get really excited about?
We worked on some really exciting projects this year, especially within our theatre community. I was honored to play Annie Sullivan in The Miracle Worker, produce my dear friend Samantha’s directorial debut The Book of Liz, and create a mash-up of opera and Shakespeare in a cool production of Macbeth, in addition to my other duties at Renaissance.
16. What song will always remind you of 2009?
My hubby loves Beyonce, so I’ll say “Single Ladies”. And also because it reminds me of Jon Bovi, which was my favorite SNL schtick this season.
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
– happier or sadder? Happier, with a renewed sense of what love is.
– thinner or fatter? Fatter. I almost want to put quotes around that because thin and fat and all that is relative, in my opinion. At any rate I am 20 pounds heavier than last year and extremely happy at this weight.
– richer or poorer? Richer in every sense of the word.
18. What do you wish you’d done more of?


Cooking.
19. What do you wish you’d done less of?


I started 2009 as a worry-wart. I finished it as someone so full of joy that worry is hard to find brain room for.
20. How did you spend Christmas?


We slept in a little, ate lunch with Jeff’s family at his grandmother’s, ate leftovers for dinner at my mom’s while playing games and laughing our butts off, and left laaaate that night for Ooltewah where we spent the weekend with Jeff’s dad and step-mom.
21. Did you fall in love in 2009?
Over and over and over again. I also learned a new kind of love as a mother…2009 was an amazing year for love.
22. What was your favorite TV program?


We continued our love affair with NBC’s Thursday night line-up, Top Chef, and the Food Network in general.
23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?


I love some pretty amazing people that I barely knew last year. Friendships are great like that. 🙂
24. What was the best book you read?
I read all of Ina May Gaskin’s books and they really prepared me for not only the natural childbirth process but breastfeeding and caring for Nola Jean.
25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Adele. Love, loveloveloveloveLOVE.
26. What did you want and get?
A healthy baby, a great year at work, and affirmation in some areas of my personal life.
27. What did you want and not get?
The pasta maker attachment for my stand mixer.
28. What was your favorite film of this year?
Julie & Julia.
29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 27 this year, and celebrated by cheering K on at her dance recital, getting my iPhone, and eating dinner with Jeff’s family. The next day we ate with my family and in June took our annual trip to New Orleans.
30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
A new car. I love my Jetta with all my heart but it’s time for something bigger.
31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?
Comfort. Since I was pregnant for the majority of the year, I had to get creative. There aren’t many maternity options out there but I made it work.
32. What kept you sane?


Jeff and the kids, and my mom. And my weekly lunches with Samantha.
33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Dooce. Not because I hope to be one of those women who makes money writing about my kids and husband on the internet, but because she’s funny and smart and I enjoy reading about her life.
34. What political issue stirred you the most?


Health care reform. I believe the true reform should start with the CORRUPT insurance companies, but any change at this point should be a good change.
35. Who did you miss?


Lyndsay and Katie. So much was going on in all of our lives and we did our best to keep up with one another, but there’s nothing like having them here physically. I love my sisters.
36. Who was the best new person you met?


My new boss. I hope the theatre community especially understands the wealth of education and wisdom she has and takes advantage of it.
37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.

People will always be supportive of your decisions when you can prove they are well-informed.
38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.


(our song we made up for the baby, sung to the tune of “Clementine”…now her favorite lullaby)
Nola, Nola
Nola, Nola
Nola, Nola
Imogene

You were born
On a Monday
In the great state of Tennessee
You were born
At noon on Monday
November 16th

With your brown hair
And your blue eyes
And your pretty dimples too
How we love you
How we love you
Nola Jean we love you

One thought on “And So It Begins.

  1. Melissa says:

    I love you!

Leave a Reply

What

Seen

Backwards

