The One Where LIFE IS CRAZY.

3

July 24, 2009 by Jo

Belly Perk #347: People (mothers who stay at home, especially) have stopped telling me that I won’t “know busy” until I have a baby. Because yes…we’re not busy, I’m not a step-parent, I have no idea what it’s like. Sure, having an infant will add to our crazy life (the life in which I work a full, FULL time job for which I am very grateful and thank God for daily) but the “busy”? It arrived a loooooong time ago.

Just because I have (sorry, MAKE) time to date my husband, travel, attend shows/events/concerts doesn’t mean I’m not busy. It just means I’m ORGANIZED.

Belly Perk #573: My awesome new clothes.

3 thoughts on “The One Where LIFE IS CRAZY.

  1. lynds says:

    tell you what, I sure don’t know the “busy” those moms talk about- the STAY HOME “busy”, “busy” doing laundry and “busy” changing diapers and “busy” cooking dinner. I wish I had time to be that “busy”. :o) I have a few moms that don’t work that come in and talk about how busy they are and I’m going, you’re BLESSED! You’re not working and you can still afford to bring your kids in to paint pottery! It’s a totally different kind of busy.

  2. Aardvark says:

    I think a lot of SAHMs feel like they have to constantly talk about how busy they are to somehow justify “not working.”
    I am SAHM and I am hella busy some days and some days I take naps with my kids. Some days I get stuff done and some days….I don’t! I know I am blessed and fortunate to be able to stay home with my girls and if playing hide and go seek means I have dirty dishes in the sink…so be it!

    I also think people think they are being helpful by trying to “prepare” you for the life change. It can’t be done. Being a mother is like nothing else and even when you are so exhausted that you can’t find the bathroom and the baby is screaming and your toddler just ran past naked with a sharpie…it is all worth the “busy.”

    Have you guys decided what you are going to do as far as you going back to work after maternity leave and what you are going to do with the baby?

  3. Jo says:

    I totally agree with both of you…being a mom, no matter whether you work at home(because it is a job, paycheck or not) or outside the home, is a totally different kind of “busy”.

Leave a Reply

What

Seen

Backwards

