The One Where I Forgot Friday5

1

February 3, 2009 by Jo

  1. In American football, a fumble occurs when the player carrying the ball drops it, often resulting in a great advantage for the other team. What have you recently fumbled in your own life? I think that no matter how hard I try to keep all these balls in the air I’m bound to drop one. Every day there are little ones that don’t hold any weight in the long run that I have to let fall.
  2. In American football, you have thrown an interception when someone from the other team catches the ball you meant for your teammate. Who’s often an interceptor of something you intend for someone else? Jeff. I swear, if it weren’t for him, this blog would be full of rants. Whenever I feel like there’s no justice and people aren’t getting what they deserve, he reminds me that it’s not my place, that they’ll get what’s coming to them, that quiet and happy is always better. And THEY DO and IT IS.
  3. One of the severest penalties in American football is for unsportsmanlike conduct, when a player doesn’t play according to the spirit of fair play. In what situations are you most likely to be a perpetrator of unsportsmanlike conduct? You mess with the people and things that are important to me, and I’m done. Attack me personally all you want…it’s when you start bashing where my heart lies that I just can’t stand for it.
  4. In American football, the concept of running low-risk plays that consistently gain a few yards at a time is called “moving the chains,” while the concept of going after huge gains with higher-risk plays is called the “vertical game.” In your personal life, are you more of a moving-the-chains player or a vertical-game player? I think I’m a pretty good blend of both. This isn’t a black-and-white answer, as anyone in the professional world knows. Sometimes you have to take the high risk road; other times, just inching along is better.
  5. Sometimes in American football, the quarterback will, at the last moment, change his or her mind about the intended play, either to prevent what is likely to be a failure or to take advantage of a vulnerability in the other team. The method used in this play-change is often “calling an audible.” In what way have you recently called an audible in your life? Again, I feel like I make these decisions constantly, whether dealing with my volunteer, church, or work life. But on a personal level…I had to change my thinking. So I did. If I hadn’ t revamped my approach to life, mentally, I was going to sink. So…I did.

www.friday5.org

One thought on “The One Where I Forgot Friday5

  1. […] In American football , a fumble occurs when the player carrying the ball drops it, often resulting in a great advantage for the other team. What have you recently fumbled in your own life? I think that no matter how hard …Read More […]

Leave a Reply

What

Seen

Backwards

