..the new one..

Leave a comment

December 31, 2008 by Jo

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before? Got engaged, got married, went on a honeymoon, became a step-mom.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? My only resolution was to simplify my life. It’s an ongoing process.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Not reeeally close, but a lot of peripherial friends did.

4. Did anyone close to you die? Nope.

5. What countries did you visit? New Orleans.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008? Rest. And the ability to say “no”.

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? November 22. We got hitched! It was easily the coolest wedding I’ve ever been to.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Oh good grief…there are actually several. Getting another raise, producing great shows at Alpha, landing the part of Annie Sullivan in The Miracle Workeri, paying off my car (early), successfully planning my wedding amidst so much going on…

9. What was your biggest failure? Not planning out my moving strategy very well. Combining our two households has been a painful process (in the literal sense; emotionally, we’re great). 

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Nope.

11. What was the best thing you bought? My wedding dress.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? Jeff’s. He is my rock. Katie, my sister, who was selected to sing at the Broadway for Obama event back in the fall (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zKcFMdFdfEM). Connor, who is as smart as a whip. My co-workers; we worked our butts off this year. 

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? Those are strong words…I have one friend who really broke my heart, but even that didn’t cause a reaction quite that drastic because I expected it to end the way it did. 

14. Where did most of your money go? The wedding, my car, art.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Good grief. I really don’t want to say “our wedding” in every answer, so I’ll say…my bachelorette party! It was perfect.

16. What song will always remind you of 2008? “Bridge Over Troubled Water”. I listened to it a lot this year, and it was the song my daddy walked me down the aisle to…he sang it to my mom at their wedding.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? Happier. Much.
b) thinner or fatter? The same. I’m definitely more fit.
c) richer or poorer? Richer. In so many ways.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of? Reading. I really slacked this year. I was lucky to finish a couple of books a month.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of? Modern techonology. I’m kind of sick of communicating by email and text. When my pal LeAnn called today I actually shrieked because it’s actual human contact.

20. How did you spend Christmas? We had Five Christmases! Ha. Eve at my Mom’s, Christmas lunch at Jeff’s grandmother’s, Christmas afternoon at my Uncle’s, Christmas evening at Jeff’s Mom’s, Christmas weekend at Jeff’s Dad’s.

21. Did you fall in love in 2008? Again and again and again.

22. What was your favorite TV program? Top Chef. All the way.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? Hate is such a strong word. I usually move right past hate to disregard. I just have nothing to say, period.

24. What was the best book you read? “Do Hard Things”, by the Harris twins. It was our study guide for youth at church, and I loved it.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery? I realized how much the classic hymns mean to me. Some days, I would much rather listen to the old gospel greats sing than anything else. Otherwise…the soundtrack to Juno.

26. What did you want and get? The whole marriage thing was pretty high on the list. I was also pretty hopeful about the resurrection of Olde Towne Brewery, and it is back with a venegence.

27. What did you want and not get? I didn’t get to introduce Jeff to The Big Apple, but I think it’ll happen sooner than later.

28. What was your favorite film of this year? Juno.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? 26. I was 4 days engaged and we were in NOLA with our family and friends.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? If the house was in shape, but it will happen with time.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008? New. I shopped at some new places and started spending a little more on the classics. I’ve never really cared about trends, and this year that was even more true than usual.

32. What kept you sane? Our DVR, the Meg(h)ans, Shelli, Katie, and Amy, Coldplay, and Sojourn.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Samantha Musto. Don’t know who she is? Oh, you will…

34. What political issue stirred you the most? Sarah Palin. BWAHA. No, actually, our mayoral race here in Huntsville was really important to me.

35. Who did you miss? My Mamur.

36. Who was the best new person you met? I really connected with a lot of “new” people in our theatre community this year, and that’s been amazing.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008. A quiet spirit is a lot more important than people think. Some of my friends appreciate hearing my true, heartfelt feelings; some just want me to listen. So I hope to become quieter as I grow in 2009.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

If I was a flower growing wild and free
All I’d want is you to be my sweet honey bee.
And if I was a tree growing tall and greeen
All I’d want is you to shade me and be my leaves

Leave a Reply

What

Seen

Backwards

