..surf’s up..

2

October 8, 2008 by Jo

My, how the world changes in ten years.

Ten years ago, if a personality conflict happened, you would call someone and fix it, maybe send an email, or just ignore them.

Ten years ago, if someone hurt your feelings, you might send a letter or drop by their home.

Ten years ago, if you wanted to do business, you picked up the darn phone.

Now it seems that people don’t have the balls to simply say, “Hey, you know what? You ticked me off back then. And you still do it now.” or, “You REALLY hurt my feelings, and I’d like an apology” or “You need to get over whatever your problem is” or “Hey…you seem cool and I’d really like for us to be friends”.

Now, it’s all a nasty email here, a vague blog post there, an apology sent over Myspace that doesn’t mean anything, a friend request on Facebook.

I am so tired of it…I wonder if the Internet has strippeed us of all humanity…I wonder when people who have problems with other people will grow a pair and own up to it or when they want to hang out they can’t pick up the phone. I hate when people say they’ve been trying to get in touch with me and then find out they sent an email.

Don’t get me wrong, I use email. I use it for work. I use it for theatre stuff. I also know how to communicate on it…and when to stop. I learned the hard way, I guess.

My main concern is that our children and grandchildren won’t learn to communicate when they’re hurt. Thankfully, I feel like we help the kids (and Karen does this too) deal with their issues they way they should…by talking it out…by working out their emotions so they don’t get bottled up…by drawing, playing outside, doing something creative that will help expel the negative and accentuate the positive.

I know the Internet, Facebook, Myspace, blogs, Twitter, text messages all have great advantages. I’ll recognize that.

But that doesn’t mean I have to like it.

2 thoughts on “..surf’s up..

  1. Aardvark says:

    I find it therapeutic to let people know what I think.

  2. Jo says:

    Yep. I guess that’s my point. I finally realized that with people I care about, whether work, family, church…I just needed to be honest about what I think and feel. Feels good!

Leave a Reply

What

Seen

Backwards

