..line notes..

1

December 2, 2007 by Jo

My boyfriend is a photographer. He rarely shoots weddings, but when he gets one, we get pumped.

We LOVE shooting weddings.

So today, we shot a gorgeous Catholic wedding. I love Catholic weddings; the ritual, the reverence, the music, the chants. The way God is the focus of the service, not the bride and groom.

I’ve come to the point where I can confirm what I’ve surmised the couple to be like based on their first dance song. What I mean is that Jeff and I usually arrive hours and hours before the ceremony and spend all of those long hours with the wedding party, so by the time the first kiss is planted and we make it to the reception, I’ve just about guessed what kind of people these newlyweds are.

And today, I was right. My immediate impression was that they were romantic, idealistic people who love fresh things. They were both extremely nervous before the ceremony. They were both inherently kind and nurturing people; where the bride is usually being cared for, this bride was the caretaker.

So imagine my non-surprise when they danced their first to Ingrid Michaelson, “The Way I Am”:

If you were falling, then I would catch you.
You need a light, I’d find a match.

Cuz I love the way you say good morning.
And you take me the way I am.

If you are chilly, here take my sweater.
Your head is aching, I’ll make it better.

Cuz I love the way you call me baby.
And you take me the way I am.

I’d buy you Rogaine if you start losing all your hair.
Sew on patches to all you tear.

Cuz I love you more than I could ever promise.
And you take me the way I am.
You take me the way I am.
You take me the way I am.

This was much like the couple we shot earlier this year. They were AMAZING people right from the start, and then of course danced to Coldplay. Perfect.

So what will our song be, you ask?

You’ll just have to wait and see.

One thought on “..line notes..

  1. […] Original post by as you hear of me, so think of me […]

Leave a Reply

What

Seen

Backwards

