..flicker..

4

November 7, 2007 by Jo

Last night Jeff and I finally made it to the movies.

Since we started dating, we have tried to make it to our local Regal cinema every Tuesday night. It’s free popcorn night for Regal Crown Club holders, which we are.

Starting in August our lives accelerate to a breakneck pace. That speed stays steady until Christmas, so our Tuesdays have been jeopardized by rehearsals, meetings, lessons, shoots…

So last night, Jeff and I finally made it to the movies. We purchased tickets to the 9:50 showing of Dan In Real Life with one of my favorites, Steve Carell, and in a small role the beautiful Emily Blunt from Devil Wears Prada, along with John Mahoney from Fraiser. Obviously, I was excited about this one.

The opening credits revealed that Nobert Leo Butz, Dane Cook, and Allison Pill were also in the cast. More excitement.

The soundtrack is by Sondre Lerche. SO EXCITED I CAN’T STAND IT.

Almost two hours later we exit the theater after enjoying an almost perfect film. I loved every minute; Steve Carell was genious, the writing was beautiful, the videography was flawless.

But the true beauty of the movie was the way to reaches out to those of us who get love, who understand it, who takes it for what it is…

“Love is not a feeling, Mr. Burns. It’s an ability.”

 I’ve heard so many descriptions of love: a verb, an emotion, a feeling. In this past year that Jeff and I have developed into a relationship I’ve realized that love is an ability; something we are or aren’t capable of. It’s something you learn…and as we learned from Dan In Real Life, it starts with loving yourself.

In the film, Dan Burns is a noted family psychiatrist who has a local advice column by which to dispense his wisdom, but as the film progresses we learn that he doesn’t put into his practice his own teachings. We watch as he is more and more downtrodden by his family, in turn seeing himself as nothing but a failure. I won’t spoil it, but for the sake of this post let’s just say he eventually learns that it’s OK to love yourself and do what’s best for you…which in turn becomes what is best for your loved ones.

Several years ago I was horribly out-of-love with myself. My self-esteem was at an all-time low; I was constantly trying to convince myself that life wasn’t as bad as it seemed. But in my heart of hearts, I was disappointed in myself.

I finally learned that loving yourself, and others, is an ability. It is something that develops out of time, out of circumstance and life experience. You cannot love someone else, fully, until you learn and are able to love yourself.

And that’s Jo…In Real Life.

4 thoughts on “..flicker..

  1. Amber says:

    I really liked how you understood the “love is an ability” and the way you related it to you. It is, it really is something we, ourselves, choose to do, have or give. It’s crazy that there are so many things around us that ARE NOT our choice that the one thing that is, no one understand and no one really thinks of as a choice.
    “he eventually learns that it’s OK to love yourself and do what’s best for you…which in turn becomes what is best for your loved ones.”
    and this.. well, really, it just makes so much sense, and it’s something that takes so much time and heart and courage to do– but once you get in the swing of it… it’s hard to imagine it any other way. Lal lalalalalal i’m rambling. I love the new blog, it’s kind of like a whole new way to read you, it’s so much more professional, the photo up top is gorgggggggg and this is a great way to start a new one.

    When I read your facebook “moving” comment, I automatically thought, I WANT THAT DUPLEX– ok, jk that was my second thought, first was WTF. No. But yannnnno.

  2. Jo says:

    Thanks Ambaa. You’re my first comment!!

  3. Dani says:

    woah, where are you moving to?

  4. Jo says:

    Nowhere…just here. Moved my blog; that’s all. 🙂 Glad you came to check it out!

Leave a Reply

What

Seen

Backwards

