Are you gonna eat that?

6

January 7, 2010 by Jo

I’ll say it.

I’m glad to be 18 pounds heavier than I was before my pregnancy.

When I was around 20 I hit my weight plateau. I’d waffled a lot through high school and right after, but at 20 I realized I’d been about the same size for a little over a year. And except for about six months in 2005, I stayed that size – a nice round 125 pounds – until my baby bump started growing.

5’7″ and 125 with a cute butt. That was where I lived for over 6 years.

The bump started growing and I started gaining; the day before her birth I weighed in at a whopping (for me) 173 pounds.

And today, 7 weeks after the birth (and 7 weeks of breastfeeding, eating healthy and keeping active) I’m back down to 143 pounds and I rather like me at this weight. 5’7″ and 143 pounds with a great figure and an excellent excuse to buy new clothes and very few comments from other women about my weight. I can eat my salad in peace now.

I type all that to climb on a soapbox and say that I’ve noticed the trend on the internets is that women who are my size are evil whores who deserve nicknames like “Skeletor” and should eat more red meat and cake.  We’re not allowed to comment on a post about someone’s weight because we have no idea how they feel, being that we’re skinny and all. Even at my current weight, which feels “fat” to me.

Uh, OK. So it’s alright for us “skinny” people to be questioned constantly about our health and food intake? It’s OK for us to be called offensive names? And it’s NOT OK for us to complain about our thighs or the difficultly of finding the right bra? What a freakin’ double standard.

So, no, I’m not grossly obese or in dire need of a diet or shopping in the plus-size section…but I do have my days, especially now that I’m adjusting to my new body, where I FEEL fat. Whether or not I actually am is of little to no importance; I’m starting to believe 90% of “fat” is in our heads and hearts and not on the scale anyway.

And that’s my first rant of 2010.

6 thoughts on “Are you gonna eat that?

  1. Sam says:

    It’s either skeletor or fat ass.
    I think you look amazing. I thought you looked amazing at 9 months preggo.
    And you are right, fat or skinny is in your head. If you are healthy and happy then eat what you want- salads or burgers.

  2. Megan says:

    amen seesta….EVERYONE has “fat” days whether size 0 or size 18 and I believe everyone has the power to change what they aren’t happy about. In my opinion, a big part of happiness comes from being content with yourself.

  3. Megan says:

    I’m not sure why, but this is has been running through my head, still, since I read it last night. And yes, I definitely agree that “fat” is in the eye of the beholder and in our heads, but society definitely pushes us to believe that the skinnier the better. And why?? this guy was being interviewed on the documentary “America the Beautiful” about why he only dates skinny women and what was his biggest insecurity? his stomach. He was athletic and in shape so why was this? Simply because he didn’t have a 6 pack. The guy doing the interviewer asked him and why do you want that? “well because the ladies love it”. And why do the ladies love it, he was asked. “uhhh….uhhhh….well….ummm”.
    So why do we love it? Because it’s what society tells us we should like.
    Unfortunately, too, that even when the skinny gals are getting called Evil Whores and whatever else, the “pudgy” girls are hearing it too. Crude remarks are dished out for them as well. I think that, like so many other things in life, it’s one of those things where both sides are dishing it out towards each other. “Wow…Why don’t you try some meat or a cupcake once in a while, skelator?” “wow…you might try one less meal at McDonalds every now and again”… It’s sad really. Why can’t we all just get along?? :)

  4. Katie Husby says:

    I was absolutely shocked the day I was called a bitch because I looked good in a new pair of size 4 jeans. It’s ridiculous that it’s become socially acceptable to roll eyes, comment and name-call because I’m considered “skinny”. I can no more control my weight than the next woman – it’s how I was born. (…getting off my soap box) I’m still reading your blog Joanna and I just had to comment! Congrats on your baby Nola – she’s beautiful :)

  5. Rocky Mades says:

    very precise and to the point blog post on a very informative subject.

  6. Belle says:

    Absolutely! Even when I was at my skinniest, I still had days where I felt uncomfortable and huge. Now that I AM fat? I hope to be able to eventually work it off. And I still have “fat” days.

Leave a Reply

What

Seen

Backwards

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 715 other followers

